MO2H 1: Transfer News and the Season So Far

After a long hiatus…we’re back! But now we’re podcasting:

[audio https://www.dropbox.com/s/f8abbnkgcy4hnwm/1%20-%20Transfer%20News%20And%20The%20Season%20So%20Far.mp3?dl=1 ]

Or download it here. (Follow the link, then right-click and save)

In Episode 1 we discuss the season so far as well as players and managers who are on the move.

We’re already working on Episode 2 but would love your questions, opinions and predictions – please leave a comment on this post.

And did I mention it’s a singalong football podcast? Click on “Continue Reading” for the lyrics in order to join in with the songs.

MO2H artwork

“Bad Buys”

We could have been anything that we wanted to be
With all the talent we had
No doubt about it, we were on top of the rest
Now we’re the best at being bad buys

My ego’s bruised and sore
My commiserations, no-one rates you any more
Bad buys, playing like we’re cursed
Once we were the best but now they say that we’re the worst
We’re overrated, and our fees weren’t worthwhile
Bad buys who’ve just gone out of style

Fernando Torres, I was worth £50 mil
Before the goals all dried up
At Liverpool I scored, but now there’s naught on the board
And Chelsea feel like they’ve been sold a pup

Eric Lamela, priced at £30 mil
That was in my last sale
I don’t get picked, now I only get stick
Spurs really mis-spent the cash from Bale

Andy Carroll, in my Newcastle days
I was always heading ’em in
But at the Anfield environment, I was surplus to requirements
I was sold – chucked in the bargain bin

We could have been anything that we wanted to be
With all the talent we had
No doubt about it, we were on top of the rest
Now we’re the best at being bad buys

You can send us out on loan, but we’ll still come back to you
We’ll be remembered for our fees and not what we say or do

original song and music by Paul Williams (“Bad Guys”)

“No More Managing Magpies”

If you could see the things I’ve seen
When I managed Magpies

All the fans just jeer and boo
I got stick from the players too
There was nothing I could do
When I managed Magpies

The fans would shout, “Give us a wave!”
And if I did, they’d act outraged
It was lose-lose at St James
When I managed Magpies

In my profession I’ve worked hard
But it’s time to stop
I’ll go down south, down in the league
And further from the top

There’s a Palace, fit for a queen
Yes Selhurst Park’s much more my scene
I’ll trade eighth place for eighteenth
Now I’m managing Eagles
No more managing Magpies
No more managing Magpies

original song and music by Fred Cliff, Harry Gifford and George Formby (“When I’m Cleaning Windows”)

“In the Premier League”

The pitches are always greener
In the Spanish Copa del Rey
You dream about being signed there
But that would be a terrible play

Just look at the teams around you
From the Emirates [Arsenal] to Turf Moor [Burnley]
Such wonderful players surround you
So what if you could earn more?

In the Premier League
In the Premier League
Life here’s a chuckle, you can make a bundle
From Sky TV
What have they got – better quality?
We’ve got Alan Shearer’s punditry(!)
We’ve got it all; we invented football
In the Premier League

The Eagles [Crystal Palace], they soar; the Tigers [Hull City], they roar
The Gunners [Arsenal], they fire; Sky Blue [Man City] thinkers inspire
Red Devils [Man United] aren’t bad but the Reds [Liverpool] are all sad
They don’t win like they think they should

The Black Cats [Sunderland] have luck; the Toffees [Everton] don’t suck
The Saints [Southampton] on the march; Blues [Chelsea] have an oligarch
The Hammers [West Ham] all pound, the Hoops [QPR] roll around
The same London neighbourhood

The Villains [Aston Villa], they thieve – Magpies [Newcastle] too, we believe
The Baggies [West Brom] say “boing!”, which is kind of annoying
Potters [Stoke] use clay, and you know they say
They all play long ball quite good

Foxes [Leicester] are sly, Swans [Swansea] go swimming by
Clarets [Burnley] decanted leave fans enchanted
Spurs [Spurs] spur themselves on, they’d like to have gone
To the Champions League if they could

In the Premier League
In the Premier League
Life here’s superior, you’ll be in the media
On Sky or BT
Everyone’s got opinions and hashtags
You could even marry a WAG
Life here’s fulfilling, you can make a killing
Life here’s a racket, you can still make a packet
Life here’s so brilliant, you can still make a million
In the Premier League

original song and music by Alan Menken and Howard Ashman (“Under the Sea”)

This entry was posted in MO2H Podcast and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to MO2H 1: Transfer News and the Season So Far

  1. akenno says:

    KENDRICK LAMARSENAL!

    This is so informative, interactive, interesting and intermilan. < football reference

    I listened to it during my lunch break and now my whole office is singing 'No more managing Magpies!'

Leave a Reply

